Contact Us
Stratford Daily Voice serves Stratford, CT
Return to your home site

Menu

Stratford Daily Voice serves Stratford, CT

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Thanksgiving Weather: What To Know Before, After
events

Irish Playwright's 'Chapatti' Premieres At Stratford's Square One Theatre

The cast of "Chapatti" at Square One Theatre includes award-winners Lucy Babbitt of Stratford and Al Kulcsar of Fairfield.
The cast of "Chapatti" at Square One Theatre includes award-winners Lucy Babbitt of Stratford and Al Kulcsar of Fairfield. Photo Credit: Contributed

STRATFORD, Conn. -- A play by Irish playwright Christian O'Reilly brings two complex and appealing characters to the Stratford stage in March.

"Chapatti," which runs March to 19 at Square One Theatre, follow the unexpected intersection between two middle-age singletons.

Betty is a lonely widow with 19 cats, and Dan, a bereaved gentleman who lives only for his beloved dog, Chapatti, named for Dan's favorite Indian dish.

The story follows Betty and Dan as they hurt, heal and ultimately come to terms with their lives and each other.

From their first encounter, one might expect romance to follow Dan and Betty, with the prickly, sardonic dog lover eventually being won over by the warm-hearted cat fancier. And eventually it does but in an unexpected way.

The cast includes award-winners Lucy Babbitt of Stratford and Al Kulcsar of Fairfield. It is directed by Tom Holehan, of Stratford.

Performances:

  • Thursday, March 2, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, March 3, 8 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 4, 4 and 8 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 5, 2 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 9, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, March 10, 8 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 11, 4 and 8 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 12, noon.
  • Thursday, March 16, 7 p.m.
  • Friday, March 17, 8 p.m.
  • Saturday, March 18, 4 and 8 p.m.
  • Sunday, March 19, 2 p.m.

For tickets, $20; $19 for seniors and student, call  203-375-8778 or click here.

All performances are at the theater's new location, Stratford Academy, 719 Birdseye St., Stratford.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Stratford Daily Voice!

This is a one time message inviting you to keep in touch

Get important news about your town as it happens.